Growing up

Posted on Updated on

by Juliet Adele
by Juliet Adele

The following is an extract from the poem “Growing Up” by Dave Young

“My first kiss was a wet alien experience,
her skin was a luxurious as double cream,
she was the cat
and she licked me,
licked me into shape,
licked me clean.
She ripped at my hair,
kissed me full on the mouth,
again and again.
My eyebrows raised,
my eyes nipped.
My lips were blood filled and swollen.
My mouth filled the softness of her tongue
and my heart – my heart, once a dark cave –
flared”.

========================================

“Growing Up” is taken from the poetry collection Water’s Edge by Dave Young and Juliet Adele

Leave a Reply

