Song: How Can I Care

Posted on Updated on

The poet and novelist Robert Graves
The poet and novelist Robert Graves

Another favourite poem of mine from the poet and novelist Robert Graves

Song:How Can I Care

by Robert Graves

How can I care whether you sigh for me

while still I sleep alone swallowing back

the spittle of desire, unmanned, a tree

pollarded of its crown, a dusty sack

tossed on the stable rack?

How can I care what coloured frocks you wear,

what humming birds you watch on jungle hills,

what phosphorescence wavers in your hair,

or with what water-music the night fills-

Dear love, how can I care?

===================================

Leave a Reply

