Elizabeth Barrett Browning: you have questions to answer

Posted on

artwork by Dianne Bowell
artwork by Dianne Bowell

Elizabeth Barrett Browning: you have questions to answer

Seduced into your world, gladly,
assignations and trysts,
stolen kisses and silken beds.
How do I love thee let me count the ways.
to the poets we turn,
foraging Browning’s pages,
leafing with eager fingers,
where lovers part, where lovers meet.
I love thee to the depth and breadth and height.
Careless lovers,
navigating a carefree path,
oh careless heart.
I love thee to the level of every days most quiet need,
by sun and candlelight,
blissfully unaware of what fate awaits.
so cruelly you kissed me,
your lips of cold blue steel,
left me screaming in silence,
at cankerous lines,
blurred into shameful shadows before my eyes.

All poems FREE to READ on http://www.daveyoungpoet.wordpress.com

CLICK on YellowFlower Part 1 and/or Part 2 and leave a COMMENT

 

Leave a Reply

