Words I dust from my coat/Anxiety clock (2004)

Posted on

The tightness in my throat,

words i casually dust from my coat,

an ocean of images that keep me afloat.

The insight, the impact, the light and the shade,

the bitter recriminations when inspiration fades.

The difference between the handle and the blade.

Where were you when I was counting the seconds,

head pounding to the beat of my anxiety clock.

Don’t you know that seconds turn to minutes,

minutes to hours, hours into days

and words turn to beasts of burden

with sentences to slay.

IMG_7578

2 thoughts on “Words I dust from my coat/Anxiety clock (2004)

    darkyblue said:
    August 30, 2013 at 9:59 am

    Brilliantly written, I hope things get better for you soon 🙂

      daveyoungpoet responded:
      September 1, 2013 at 1:07 pm

      thank you…we have to endure a roller coaster ride, that moment was a particular down

Leave a Reply

